Massachusetts Fines and Punishment for Texting And/or Talking On a Cell Phone While Driving
January 31, 2011
There is a law as of September 10, 2010 that says no person can text while driving in Massachusetts.
No person under 18 years old can use a cell phone at all for either talking or texting.
Only people who are over 18 can use a cell phone for speaking only and must have the other hand on the steering wheel.
There are hefty fines, and it will definitely ruin your whole day it you are caught doing it.
It is a civil offense, so there is no insurance surcharge.
1st offense gets the junior errant driver a $100 fine and a 60 day license suspension along with an attitudinal course.
Use of a Mobile Phone by a Public Transport Non-Motor Vehicle Operator ex: MBTA Trolley:
18 years old and over - Improper Use of a Mobile Phone.
But here are the rules that you have to play by:
One hand must be on the steering wheel at all times, and no use of the device can interfere with driving.
Texting is still not allowed for the over 18 crowd
Fines1st offense is a $100.00 fine.
2nd offense is a $250.00 fine.
3rd offense the fine is $500.00
Even if you are stopped in traffic! Operators cannot use any mobile telephone or hand-held device capable of accessing the Internet to write, send, or read an electronic message including text messages, emails, and instant messages or to access the Internet while operating a vehicle. Law applies even if the vehicle is stopped in traffic.
Negligent Operation & Injury from Mobile Phone Use
So you are using the phone and get into an accident.
1st time offender gets a 180 day license suspension2 or more offenses within 3 years result in a 1 year drivers license suspension and a $500 reinstatement fee.
18 and over suspensions are:1st offense will get you a 60 day license suspension.
2nd or more offenses within a 3 year period gets you a 1 year suspension and a $500 license reinstatement fee. Yikes!
That is getting a bit pricey, but you really shouldn't think that the only reason not to do the crime is the fines.
You should think about the idea that you may get killed or kill someone due to your negligence.
If you want to dig through the details and get this sort of info you can go to the
Massachusetts Department of Motor Vehicles Website
Also see the fines involved for such naughty behavior here: mediaman54.com/texting-driving-ban.htm